For complete election results “by the numbers”, please visit Past Election Results.

For Immediate Release

NELSON HOUSE, MANITOBA – August 26, 2022 – Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation Electoral Officer Annette Swanson announced the Chief and Council election results. Elections were held on August 24 & 25, 2022 on and off reserve.

Angela Levasseur was elected as Chief,  making history as the first Nisichawayasi Asiniskow Nehethowuk Ithiniwuk Okemawin (female Chief).  Ms. Levasseur received 496 votes, Felix Walker 431, Jerry Primrose 358 votes and William Elvis Thomas 325 votes. NCN Citizens again elected three women and three men.

Current Chief Marcel Moody becomes Deputy Chief as he did not seek re-election as Chief but had the highest number of votes for Councillor (824).  Councillors Jeremiah Spence (736), Cheryl Moore (727), Ron D. Spence (603) were all re-elected.  The two newly elected Councillors are Kim Linklater (626), a first-time member of Council and Shirley Linklater (573), a former Councillor.

The Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation 1627 people cast votes – at Nisichawayasi (Nelson House),  1149,  Thompson 252,  Leaf Rapids 36 and Winnipeg 190.  The total votes at NCN include 6 mail-in ballots cast by those NCN Citizens living outside of these major areas.

Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation is located at Nelson House, Manitoba, about 800 kilometres north of Winnipeg and 80 kilometres west of Thompson. NCN has close to 4,000 members living in Nelson House, South Indian Lake, Thompson, Brandon and Winnipeg.

For more information, please contact Electoral Officer Annette Swanson at (204) 679-679-2960.