2018 Chief and Council

For Immediate Release

NELSON HOUSE, MANITOBA – August 24, 2018 – Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation Electoral Officer Joyce Yetman announced the Chief and Council election results. Elections were held on August 22 & 23, 2018 on and off reserve.

Marcel Moody was re-elected as Chief for a second four-year term. Chief Moody received 960 votes, Jerry Primrose 407 votes and William Elvis Thomas 304 votes. NCN Citizens elected three women and three men. Councillors Ron D. Spence (616 votes) and Willie (Buckoose) Moore (607 votes) were re-elected. The four newly elected Councillors are Cheryl Moore (704 votes), Jeremiah Spence (582 votes), Jackie Walker (567 votes) and Cheyenne Spence (551 votes).

According to the Nisichawayasi Election Law, the Councillor with the highest number of votes will serve as the Vice-Chief so that honor goes to Cheryl Moore. The Chief and Council term of office runs until September 2022.

The Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation had 1684 people vote – 1226 (72.8%) votes were cast in Nelson House, 245 (14.5%) in Thompson, 47 (2.8%) in Leaf Rapids, and 150 (8.9%) in Winnipeg. There were also 16 mail-in ballots cast by those NCN Citizens living outside of these major areas.

Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation is located at Nelson House, Manitoba, about 800 kilometres north of Winnipeg and 80 kilometres west of Thompson. NCN has close to 4,000 members living in Nelson House, South Indian Lake, Thompson, Brandon and Winnipeg.

For more information, please contact Electoral Officer Joyce Yetman at (204) 679-0506.

For complete election results “by the numbers”, please visit Past Election Results.